Banner

Home | Group | Research | Publications | Seminars/Workshops | Teaching | Open Positions | How to find us | Intranet

Deutsch | English

Modification of surfaces via electron-induced reactions

Electron-induced reactions can also be used to functionalize a surface. Exposing a thin layer of acetonitrile (CH3CN) on a hydrogen-terminated diamond surface to electrons with energies as low as 2 eV leads to attachment of acetonitrile fragments to the surface. We suggest that this is accompanied by an activation of the surface by atomic hydrogen released upon electron attachment.

A Diamond surface is cooled to 35 K.Picture#1: Functionalization of diamond"
1-2 monolayers of acetonitril are condensed onto the surface and exposed to electrons.Picture#2: Functionalization of diamond
The sample is heated to 400 K to evaporate physisorbed material.Picture#3: Functionalization of diamond
The sample is cooled again to 35 K for recording of HREELS.Picture#4: Functionalization of diamond

Evidence for the functionalization is obtained by HREEL spectra in the range of vibrational excitations. Besides other characteristic signals, acetonitril exhibits a C≡N stretching band. After exposure to electrons and desorption of the physisorbed material, the C≡N signal prevails. In addition, a band appears in the range of C=C and C=N vibrations. This is ascribed to the attachment of molecular fragments in two different geometries.

More information:
Electron induced functionalization of diamond by small organic groups;
A.Lafosse, M.Bertin, D.Caceres, C.Jäggle, P.Swiderek, D.Pliszka, and R.Azria, Eur.Phys.J. D 35, 363 (2005).


A new strategy to control chemical synthesis by the use of low-energy electron exposure relies on the electrostatic attraction caused by soft ionization of one of the reaction partners. This approach, which is complementary to the strategy of controlling chemical reactions by inducing DEA, has been used to synthesize aminoethane. This and similar reactions are expected to open new strategies for surface functionalization.

Hydroaminierung

The reaction is supposed to proceed as follows: Ionisation above the first threshold removes an electron from the π orbital of C2H4. The cation interacts attractively with the lone pair of NH3. Alternatively, ionisation can also occur from the lone pair of NH3 and the resulting cation be attracted towards the electron rich double bond of C2H4. Intramolecular H migration and subsequent neutralisation of the resulting adduct by thermalised electrons within the film then produces aminoethane (C2H5NH2). The reaction resembles a hydroamination except that the electron beam replaces the catalyst of the organic synthesis. Ionisation cirumvent the electrostatic repulsion that normally prevents the reaction between neutral C2H4 and NH3.

More information:
Low-Energy-Electron-Induced Hydroamination of an Alkene;
T.Hamann, E.Böhler, P.Swiderek, Angew.Chem.Int.Ed. 48, 4643 (2009).

<< previous topic | Overview | next topic >>

LogoUniversity of Bremen | Institute for Applied and Physical Chemistry | Tel. +49-421-218-63171 | Login | Imprint

Banner

Startseite | Arbeitsguppe | Forschung | Publikationen | Veranstaltungen | Lehre | Offene Positionen | Anfahrt | Intranet

Deutsch | English

Modifizierung von Oberflächen durch elektronen-induzierte Reaktionen

Elektronen-induzierte Reaktionen können auch zur Funktionalisierung von Oberflächen eingesetzt werden. Bestrahlung einer dünnen Schicht von Acetonitril (CH3CN) auf einer wasserstoff-terminierten Diamant-Oberfläche mit einer Energie von nur 2 eV führt zu Anknüpfung von Fragmenten, die unter Bestrahlung gebildet werden. Dabei kommt es wahrscheinlich durch freigesetzten atomaren Wasserstoff zunächst zu einer Aktivierung der Diamant-Oberfläche.

Eine Diamant-Oberfläche wird auf 35 K abgekühlt.Bild 1 Funktionalisierung von H-Diamant
1-2 Monolagen Acetonitril werden abgeschieden und mit Elektronen bestrahlt.Bild 2 Funktionalisierung von H-Diamant
Die Probe wird auf 400 K geheizt, um das physisorbierte Material abzudampfen.Bild 3 Funktionalisierung von H-Diamant
Die Probe wird wieder abgekühlt und mit HREELS untersucht.Bild 4 Funktionalisierung von H-Diamant

Der Nachweis der Anknüpfung erfolgt im HREELS-Experiment im Bereich der Schwingungsanregung. Acetonitril zeigt ein Signal der C≡N-Streckschwingung sowie weitere charakteristische Banden. Nach Bestrahlung und anschließender Desorption der physisorbierten Moleküle bleibt das C≡N-Signal bestehen. Zusätzlich wird eine Bande im Bereich der C=C bzw. C=N-Schwingungen sichtbar. Dies wird darauf zurückgeführt, dass molekulare Fragmente auf zwei unterschiedliche Arten angeknüpft werden.

Weitere Informationen:
Electron induced functionalization of diamond by small organic groups;
A.Lafosse, M.Bertin, D.Caceres, C.Jäggle, P.Swiderek, D.Pliszka, and R.Azria, Eur.Phys.J. D 35, 363 (2005).


Eine neue Strategie zur Kontrolle chemischer Synthesereaktionen durch niederenergetische Elektronen nutzt die elektrostatische Anziehung nach weicher Ionisation eines der Reaktionspartner aus. Dieser Ansatz, der zur Synthese von Aminoethan genutzt wurde, ist komplementär zur Strategie, chemische Reaktionen durch dissoziative Elektronenanlagerung zu kontrollieren. Diese und ähnliche Reaktionen können auch neue Wege zur Funktionalisierung von Oberflächen eröffnen.

Hydroaminierung

Für die Reaktion wurde der folgende Mechanismus vorgeschlagen: Ionisation entfernt ein Elektron aus dem π-Orbital von. C2H4. Das Kation wirkt anziehend auf das freie Elektronenpaar des NH3. Alternativ kann die Ionisation auch am freien Elektronenpaar des NH3 erfolgen, wodurch eine Anziehung der Doppelbindung des C2H4 mit ihrer hohen Elektronendichte auftritt. Intramolekulare H-Wanderung und anschließende Neutralisierung durch thermalisierte Elektronen liefert Aminoethan (C2H5NH2). Die Reaktion ähnelt einer Hydroaminierung, allerdings ersetzt der Elektronenstrahl den in der organischen Synthese notwendigen Katalysator. Ionisation umgeht die elektrostatische Abstoßung, die normalerweise die Reaktion zwischen neutralem C2H4 und NH3 verhindert.

Weitere Informationen:
Low-Energy-Electron-Induced Hydroamination of an Alkene;
T.Hamann, E.Böhler, P.Swiderek, Angew.Chem.Int.Ed. 48, 4643 (2009).

<< voriger Schwerpunkt | Überblick | nächster Schwerpunkt >>

LogoUniversität Bremen | Institut für Angewandte und Physikalische Chemie | Tel. +49-421-218-63171 | Login | Impressum