Banner

Home | Group | Research | Publications | Seminars/Workshops | Teaching | Open Positions | How to find us | Intranet

Deutsch | English

Electron-induced chemical reactions in condensed phase

Prototypical organic molecules are investigated at electron energies below 20 eV to learn about the mechanisms of electron-induced reactions. These energies are characteristic of secondary electrons formed in abundance under exposure of a material to higher-energy radiation and thus are also the most important initiators of chemical reactions in technical processes. On the other hand, it is known that at electron energies below the ionization threshold electron attachment can lead to efficient fragmentation of a molecule. This should provide new opportunities to control the modification of a material.

High-resolution electron-energy-loss (HREEL) spectra within the range of electronic excitations show that acetaldehyde (CH3CHO), similar to other oxygen-containing molecules, yields CO under exposure to low-energy electrons (Experiment).

This leaves open the question about products resulting from the remaining hydrocarbon fragments. Thermal desorption spectrometry (TDS, Experiment) shows that besides CO, that desorbs first upon increase of the sample temperature, CH4 (mass 16) and CH3CH2CHO (mass 58) are formed.

Picture CH3CO-Au
Picture Acetaldehyd

More information:
Fate of reactive intermediates formed in acetaldehyde under exposure to low-energy electrons;
P.Swiderek, C.Jäggle, D.Bankmann, E.Burean, J.Phys.Chem.B 111, 303 (2007).


Experiments using mixtures of two different molecules show which conditions are required to induce reactions between the two partners. The results demonstrate wether electron-induced reactions can be used to functionalize simple starting materials. Electron attachment at 7 eV initiates a reaction yielding C2D6 (mass 36) in a mixture of deuterated acetonitrile (CD3CN) and ethane (C2H6). Other products (CD4, CD3H, C2H5D und C2D5CN) give evidence of intermolecular reactions. Above the ionization threshold, a reaction between fragments of the two substances yields C2H5CD3.

Picture C2H6+CD3CN
Picture reactions at 7eV

More information:
Electron-induced reactions in condensed films of acetonitrile and ethane;
I.Ipolyi, W.Michaelis, P.Swiderek, PCCP 8, 182 (2007).

<< previous topic | Overview | next topic >>

LogoUniversity of Bremen | Institute for Applied and Physical Chemistry | Tel. +49-421-218-63171 | Login | Imprint

Banner

Startseite | Arbeitsguppe | Forschung | Publikationen | Veranstaltungen | Lehre | Offene Positionen | Anfahrt | Intranet

Deutsch | English

Elektronen-induzierte chemische Reaktionen in kondensierter Phase

Um die Mechanismen elektronen-induzierter Reaktionen verstehen zu lernen, untersuchen wir einfache organische Moleküle als Modellsysteme. Dabei verwenden wir Elektronenenergien unterhalb von 20 eV. Diese Energien sind typisch für Sekundärelektronen, die in großer Zahl bei Verwendung höherenergetischer Strahlung produziert werden und daher die wichtigsten Initiatoren der Reaktionen auch in technischen Prozessen darstellen. Andererseits ist bekannt, dass bei Elektronenenergien unterhalb der Ionisationsgrenze die kurzzeitige Anlagerung von Elektronen an Moleküle sehr effizient ist und in engen Energiebereichen zu deren Fragmentierung führt. Dies sollte neue Wege zu einer kontrollierten Modifizierung von Materialien öffnen.

Hochaufgelöste Elektronen-Energieverlust- (HREEL-) Spektren im Bereich der elektronischen Anregungen zeigen, dass Acetaldehyd (CH3CHO), wie auch andere sauerstoffhaltige Verbindungen, unter Elektronenbestrahlung CO abspaltet (Experimente).

Allerdings bleibt damit offen, welche Produkte aus den abgespaltenen Kohlenwasserstoff-Fragmenten entstehen. Die thermische Desorptions-Spektrometrie (TDS, Experimente) zeigt, dass sich neben CO, das als erstes bei Aufwärmen der Probe desorbiert, auch CH4 (Masse 16) sowie CH3CH2CHO (Masse 58) bilden.

Bild CH3CO-Au

Bild Acetaldehyd

Weitere Informationen:
Fate of reactive intermediates formed in acetaldehyde under exposure to low-energy electrons;
P.Swiderek, C.Jäggle, D.Bankmann, E.Burean, J.Phys.Chem.B 111, 303 (2007).


Experimente mit Mischungen zweier unterschiedlicher Substanzen zeigen, unter welchen Bedingungen es zu Reaktionen zwischen diesen kommt. Die Ergebnisse geben Hinweise darauf, ob elektronen-induzierte Reaktionen eingesetzt werden können, um funktionelle Gruppen an einfachere Ausgangsmaterialien anzuknüpfen. In einer Mischung aus deuteriertem Acetonitril (CD3CN) und Ethan (C2H6) wird aufgrund von Elektronenanlagerung verstärkt bei 7 eV eine Reaktion ausgelöst, die C2D6 (Masse 36) liefert. Weitere Produkte (CD4, CD3H, C2H5D und C2D5CN) belegen das Auftreten intermolekularer Reaktionen. Oberhalb der Ionisationsschwelle wird mit C2H5CD3 auch ein Additionsprodukt aus Fragmenten beider Reaktionspartner gebildet.

Bild C2H6+CD3CN

Bild Reaktionen bei 7eV

Weitere Informationen:
Electron-induced reactions in condensed films of acetonitrile and ethane;
I.Ipolyi, W.Michaelis, P.Swiderek, PCCP 8, 182 (2007).

<< voriger Schwerpunkt | Überblick | nächster Schwerpunkt >>

LogoUniversität Bremen | Institut für Angewandte und Physikalische Chemie | Tel. +49-421-218-63171 | Login | Impressum